VILLAGE OF WAYNE DIRECTORY OF INFORMATION

Updated May 9, 2023

I. DESCRIPTION OF THE PUBLIC BODY

- ➤ The Village of Wayne operates under the Village form of government, with an elected President and an appointed Village Clerk. The Village was incorporated on September 15, 1958.
- ➤ The elected public body carries out the legislative responsibilities of the Village and consists of the Village President and six (6) Trustees. These elected officials comprise the Village President and Board of Trustees. The Village President and Trustees are elected at large and serve without compensation. The Village Clerk, Village Treasurer, Village Attorney and Chief of Police are appointed by the Village President with the consent of the Board of Trustees.
- ➤ The Village Board has the responsibility to pass ordinances, levy taxes, award contracts, and consent to the appointment of certain Village officers and members of committees and commissions. The Village Board also sets Village policy, including the types and level of services to be provided for the community.
- ➤ The Village President presides over the meetings of the Board of Trustees, signs all official documents and is the Chief Executive Officer of the Village. The Village President has appointment authority for certain Village officers and members of committees and commissions with the consent of the Village Board.
- ➤ The Village Clerk is the keeper of the Village Seal and all official Village documents. The Clerk is responsible for keeping records of all Board Resolutions and Ordinances, minutes of Board meetings, and contracts. The Village Clerk is also responsible to keep records of all deeds and easements granting property rights to the Village, various applications, licenses, and documents related to election proceedings.
- ➤ The Village Treasurer is charged with the custody of all Village funds and the disbursement of funds as approved by the Village Board.
- ➤ For the Fiscal Year Ending April 30, 2022, the operating expense budget for the Village is approximately \$1,743,267.
- The Village has five (5) full-time employees and twenty (20) part-time employees.

II. CURRENT ELECTED AND APPOINTED OFFICIALS AND EMPLOYEES

➤ The current members of the President and Board of Trustees are:

Village President - Eileen Phipps

Board of Trustees

Guy Bevente Pete Connolly

Mike Dimitroff

Gary Figurski

Ed Hull

Emily Miller

➤ Village Board Committees

Administrative – Emily Miller(Chair,)

Building & Zoning – Gary Figurski (Chair,) Ed Hull, Peter Connolly

Development/HARP - Ed Hull (Chair,) Emily Miller

Finance – Pete Connolly (Chair,), Emily Miller

Public Safety - Peter Connolly (Chair,) All Trustees

Public Works – Mike Dimitroff (Chair,) Pete Connolly, Emily Miller

> The current Village Clerk is Patricia Engstrom

The Deputy Village Clerk is appointed by the Village Clerk.

The Deputy Village Clerk is Gina Panek

➤ The current Village officials appointed by the Village President with the consent of the Board of Trustees are:

Village Treasurer – Howard Levine

Village Attorneys – Mickey, Wilson, Weiler, Renzi, Lenert & Julien, PC

Police Chief – Timothy J. Roberts

Historic Sites Commission Members and Chair

Park Commission Members and Chair

Plan Commission Members and Chair

Zoning Board of Appeals Members and Chair

Two Members of the Police Pension Board

Building and Zoning Director - Michael Gricus

III. VILLAGE-OWNED FACILITIES

➤ The Village currently owns/rents the following facilities:

Police Station: 31W680 Army Trail Road, Wayne, Illinois 60184

Police Department Finance Department

Administrative Offices: 5N430 Railroad Street, Wayne Illinois 60184

Village Clerk's Office Building Department

Public Works Department; 5N502 Railroad Street, Wayne, Illinois 60184

IV. BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

A. Plan Commission

Carol Dimitroff, Chair

Bob Handley

Bill Kohl

Carol Dimitroff

Fred Iozzo

Greg Richard

Kathleen Tranchida

B. Zoning Board of Appeals

Joe Giagnorio, Chair

Heather Howland

James Migely

Heidi Pearson

Christine Doolittle

Beth Kucera

C. Park Commission

Marie Iozzo, Chair

Ed Sell

Marie Iozzo

Ashley Thatcher

Jim Lorenz

Tom Richter

Jenise Koerner

D. Historic Sites Commission

Kathie Connolly, Chair Susan Abbott Deanne Appleton

Kathie Connolly

Brian Dempsey

Jim Issel

Jane Migely

Tony Stratton

E. Police Pension Board

Bob Heitzman (President)

Bob Handley (Secretary)

Bonnie Dauer (Trustee)